The Silo Series was created to promote the sharing of the written and spoken word among an already existing and thriving arts community.

All events are by $5 suggested donation and open to all.

Readings take place roughly every two months.

Poetry in May
Sunday, May 6 7pm

Baron Wormser is the author/co-author of sixteen books and a poetry chapbook. Wormser has received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, Bread Loaf, and the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. From 2000 to 2005 he served as poet laureate of the state of Maine. He teaches in the Fairfield University MFA Program and lives with his wife Janet in Montpelier, Vermont.

Cyndle Plaisted Rials lives between the mountains and the ocean; both pull her equally. She teaches creative writing for Southern New Hampshire University and operates a small business in which she designs and creates eclectic fashion accessories with fiber and resin. Cyndle earned her MFA at Vermont College of Fine Arts, and her poems have appeared in such places as Hunger MountainGlass: A Journal of PoetryAmethyst ArsenicConte, and Be Wilder: A Word Portland Anthology.

Suzanne Simmons’ essays, poems and photographs have been published in The New York Times, Rattle, The Baltimore Review, Fifth Wednesday, Miramar, and numerous other journals.  She volunteers for hospice and Monarch Watch and lives on the rocky coast of Maine.

Voices on Women & Resistance
Friday, May 18 7pm

Adrian Shirk is the author of the hybrid memoir And Your Daughters Shall Prophesy (Counterpoint, 2018). She’s a columnist at Catapult, and her essays have appeared in The Atlantic and other publications. She holds an MFA in nonfiction from the University of Wyoming in Laramie. Currently, she teaches in the BFA Writing Program at Pratt Institute, and lives on the border of the Bronx and Yonkers with Christopher Sweeney and Quentin the cat.

Tom Simpson teaches courses on religion, philosophy, and human rights at Phillips Exeter Academy, where he lives in a dorm with his family, coaches baseball, and teaches a seminar religion, global feminism, and film. He is the author of American Universities and the Birth of Modern Mormonism, 1867-1940, published by the University of North Carolina Press in 2016, and his essays about postwar-Bosnia have appeared in the Canadian literary magazine Numéro Cinq.

As a member of the English faculty at Phillips Exeter, Mercy Carbonell has taught Advanced Senior Creative Writing Workshops and seminars on The Craft of Fiction, Toni Morrison, James Baldwin and Love. She serves as co-Chair of the MLK Day Committee, Advisor for Arts & Activism Club, coach for various sports, and Summer School Faculty. In 2016, Mercy was on Sabbatical in San Francisco doing research on Students in Social Justice Activism, writing and volunteer teaching/tutoring at 826 Valencia Writing Spaces. She lives in Exeter with her partner Lisa and her retriever Scout.

silooWords to Melt Away Winter: The Silo Series
Friday, March 30 7pm

Gabrielle Calvocoressi is the author of The Last Time I Saw Amelia EarhartApocalyptic Swing (a finalist for the LA Times Book Prize) and Rocket Fantastic, which was released by Persea Books in September 2017. She is the recipient of numerous awards and fellowships including a Stegner Fellowship and Jones Lectureship from Stanford University, a Rona Jaffe Woman Writer’s Award, a Lannan Foundation residency in Marfa, TX, the Bernard F. Conners Prize from The Paris Review, and a residency from the Civitella di Ranieri Foundation, among others. She lives in North Carolina and teaches at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Matt W. Miller was born and raised in Lowell, Massachusetts and is the author of The Wounded for the Water (forthcoming 2108, Salmon Poetry), Club Icarus, selected by Major Jackson as the 2012 Vassar Miller Poetry Prize winner, and Cameo Diner: Poems (Loom Press).  He was winner of the 2015 River Styx Micro-fiction Prize and Iron Horse Review’s 2015 Trifecta Poetry Prize and is the recipient of a Wallace Stegner Fellowship in Poetry from Stanford University and a Walter E. Dakin Fellowship in Poetry from the Sewanee Writers’ Conference.  He teaches English at Phillips Exeter Academy.

Lee Ann Dalton is a poet and fiction writer with an MFA in Creative Writing (Poetry) from Vermont College of Fine Arts. Her poetry has appeared in journals such as New Ohio Review, Faultline, and The Formalist. She also received the Howard Frank Mosher Short Fiction Prize from the journal Hunger Mountain. An active LGBTQIA+ youth advocate, Dalton is a Canadian/American dual citizen and lives in Southern New Hampshire with her husband and their daughter.


A Holiday Family Story Hour
December 14, 2017

Come get in the holiday spirit for an hour of celebration as Molly Simmons, Andrew & Bonnie Periale, and Tim Horvath read a selection of their favorite holiday stories in the The Word Barn!

Enjoy delicious cookies, hot cocoa, puppets, & lots of holiday cheer!
Bring your kids in their pjs (if you’d like)

All ages are welcome!

$5 per person/ $20 per family
Click here for tickets.

Past readers have included:

Maggie Dietz, Tim Horvath, David Rivard, Chard DeNiord, Paul Yoon, Matt Miller, Mark Decarteret, Jessica Purdy, Jayne Benjulian, Todd Hearon, S Stephanie,  Jim Rioux, Andrew Periale, Katherine Towler, Ralph Sneeden, Andrew Mitchell, Sue Repko, Peter Anderson, Hope Jordan, Jenny Johnson, Erica Plouffe Lazure, Beth Ann Miller, Megan Leonard, William Stratton, Cynthia Huntington, Clark Knowles, Mike Nelson, Lauren Mb Vermette, Kathleen Clancy, Nancy Jean Hill, Jerome Daly, Kristen Ringman, Alice B Fogel, Ella McGrail, Jessica Purdy, and Michael McInnis, Meg Day, David Moloney, Michael Brosnan.